OCT 2019 | Global2020+DirectorsSummit + Product+EngineeringMonth + GEW

Important Topics In This Newsletter

#Global2020+DirectorsSummit #StartupProgramOpportunity
#WorkshopRecap #Product+EngineeringMonth
#GEW #StartupOutlookSurvey
#NextOfficeHours #LevelUp

#Global2020+DirectorsSummit

We are super excited to have you join us for our 10th annual Global Conference and Directors Summit! It’s going to be an incredible week in Silicon Valley.

All Chapter Directors / Co-Directors have been sent personal invitation emails to their @startupgrind.com email addresses with information and links on how to register your tickets. If you’ve not received your invitation email, please contact ford@startupgrind.com!

For more information please visit https://directors.startupgrind.com/global

Please note: Cohort Chapter Director Applicants will only be sent their invitation emails upon successfully completing the course.


#StartupProgramOpportunity

The Startup Program needs your help!

The Startup Team would love the help of our Directors to source great startups for the Startup Program - whether that’s via a delegation of startups, or via individual applications.

What’s a delegation? This is where an organisation sponsors a group of startups to exhibit at the conference - this can range from as few as 3 startups to 20+! You may remember the likes of InnovX, Enterprise Greece, Georgia Innovation & Tech, Flywheel (and others) who have brought Startup Delegations in the past - we’re looking for similar organisations from across the world to sponsor delegations in the same way. Extra perk! An award will be presented to the Chapter that brings in the largest delegation : ) Please contact Imogen Watson or Jamilah Morrar on Slack for further details.

Individual startup referrals are also greatly appreciated - if you know of any great startup who would benefit from exhibiting to our Global community, encourage them to apply and state your name as the referrer, and they’ll receive a discount!


#WorkshopRecap

In the month of September, we utilized workshops as another way to educate our startup teams and ecosystems across the world. Check out two of the great workshops that were hosted in Akure and Berlin:

SGx Akure hosted an awesome event aimed at starting fashion designing businesses with affordable resources and equipment.

SG Berlin hosted a Legal Masterclass and Fintech Fireside chat with BMH Brautigam, Zuper, and Target Team.


#Product+EngineeringMonth

Product + Engineering Month is here! As a long time partner of Startup Grind, we are excited to have Heroku leading Product + Engineering month with chapters across the globe. 

Heroku is a platform-as-a-service (PaaS) that gives startups a powerful solution for building, deploying and operating their business-critical apps. The Heroku platform is fully-managed, meaning that we take care of servers, hardware, and infrastructure, so you can keep your team lean and focused on product. Heroku grows with your business — use a range of free services to get established and then scale up with increased usage. This year at Startup Grind we're focused on educating not just startup founders, but startup teams as well. This month we have chapters from New York City to Johannesburg are celebrating that with us!

Don't forget to share pics from your events on Twitter (tagging @heroku), Facebook & Slack!


#GEW

This year we have partnered with Global Entrepreneurship Week, which takes place between 18 - 24 November. Please host your November event within that week. 

Why should you host your event during this week? All of our events will be included on the GEW website and newsletters thus it will open up a new audience for your chapter and help build our new relationship with GEW.

To get started:

See details on how to do all of this here: https://help.startupgrind.com/article/438-global-entrepreneurship-week.


#StartupOutlookSurvey

For over a decade, Silicon Valley Bank has asked startup founders and execs their views on the health of the tech sector and their expectations for hiring, raising money and more in the coming year. The results are shared with the tech community and policymakers to impact change and develop policies to support entrepreneurs. Take the Startup Outlook survey.


#NextOfficeHours

The dates and times for the next Office Hours should be in your startupgrind.com Google Calendars. You are welcome to join any office hours you like. For your convenience we’ve broken down the times across regional time zones. They are for your reference:

AMERICA + CANADA + LATAM

Host: Madeline + Jess
Date: Tuesday, 29 October 2019
Time: Tue, 7PM SAST | Tue, 1PM EST | Wed, 10:30PM IST  | Tue, 7PM CEST
Format: Video Conference | Zoom Video Call (https://startupgrind.zoom.us/j/3486534192)

EUROPE + MIDDLE EAST + AFRICA

Host: Phin, Bruce & Daniel
Date: Wednesday, 30 October 2019
Time: Wed, 5PM SAST |  Wed, 11AM EST | Wed, 11PM HKT | Wed, 5PM CEST
Format: Video Conference | Zoom Video Call (https://startupgrind.zoom.us/s/2905911888)

APAC + CHINA

Host: Farheen
Date: Wednesday, 30 October 2019
Time: Wed 09:30 AM SAST |  Wed, 3:30 AM EST | Wed, 3:30PM HKT | Wed, 09:30 AM CEST
Format: Video Conference | Zoom Video Call (https://startupgrind.zoom.us/j/9909114490)


#LevelUp

#Event+ChapterThumbnailsOnBevy

We have a new update regarding the event and chapter thumbnails in Bevy. 

Previously, these thumbnails were 400x400px. Sometimes, this meant that sharing these event pages resulted in a cut-off and pixelated image, and showed up like this on social sharing: 

We're changing this to be 1080 x 1080, so that your event thumbnails look as good as you meant them to. You can now upload higher quality images in this section: 

#Bevy+Meetup

This past June, Bevy and Meetup announced a partnership. A big part of the partnership is building a deeper integration between Bevy and Meetup Pro.

The integration includes:

  • Syncing RSVP data (name & email) from Meetup to Bevy
  • Create new or link existing Meetup groups to Bevy chapters
  • Analytics & Attribution: track your meetup RSVPs per event or globally + monitor Bevy groups connected to Meetup & events synced to Meetup

Please note: An RSVP via Meetup DOES NOT mean a ticket purchase on Bevy, the attendee will still need to make payment via Bevy. There is currently no way to automate this. We’re working with Bevy & Meetup to change this, and hope to have a solution available soon.


#CommunityTeam

Derek, G, Phin, Bruce, Farheen, Madeline, Daniel, Jessica

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us